Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Dallas, San Antonio, Houston and Austin Offices of the Charles Johnson Law Firm Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer
Charles Johnson Law Firm
Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Charles Johnson Law Firm Reviews See Our Case Results About Us Resources Contact Us Make a Payment to the Charles Johnson Law Firm
Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer
 
Rotating1
Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer
Call now
Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer
 

Houston Lawyer Charles Johnson


1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
Loading...

Houston DWI: Penalties for Multiple Driving While Intoxicated Arrests


There are set penalties an individual will be given for a Houston DWI. Certain factors trigger penalties to increase, like multiple Driving While Intoxicated offenses, the presence of minors, or accidents that resulted in the injury or death of another individual. In addition to legal penalties, many individuals convicted of DWI face problems outside of the courtroom, such as social ostracism, job loss, limited future opportunities, strained personal relationships, community service requirements, damaged reputations, and loss of community. They may also face greater costs.  It is critical that you contact the Best Houston DWI Lawyer as soon as possible to explore your options and obtain advice about your case.  Houston DWI Lawyer Charles Johnson is available around the clock, 365 days/year to answer any questions you may have.

The following is a list of legal penalties for committing a Houston DWI:

First Houston DWI Offense:

Texas Criminal Status:
Class B

Jail:
Minimum 72 hours, or 6 days if open container is present.

Houston DWI Fines/Costs:
Fine not to exceed $2,000. Other administrative and evaluation fees might be assessed. Texas imposes a “surcharge” for a Driving While Intoxicated on top of regular fines. The surcharge is $1,000 per year for 3 years for a first Driving While Intoxicated offense and $2,000 if the person’s BAC level was double or more than the legal limit (.16).

Texas License Suspension: Yes, One year.

Attending DWI Education class may avoid this. Occupational license might be granted based on need.

Texas Conditional License:
A conditional, or occupational license, may be issued based on “essential need” and generally only when the court orders an offender into alcohol assessment/rehabilitation. Offenders who have been granted occupational licenses within 10 years are ineligible. For definitions of “essential need”, see Transportation Code Section 521.241.

Vehicle Impound: None

Houston DWI School:
First time offenders must complete a 12 hour Driving While Intoxicated Education Program within 180 days of when was granted or risk having their license revoked.

Texas Probation:
Terms of probation decided by judge or jury.

Texas Community Service:
24 hours needed, but no more than One hundred hours.

Second Houston DWI Offense Plus:

Texas Criminal Status:
Class A Misdemeanor. A 3rd DWI is a 3rd degree felony.

Jail:
Seventy two hours, not more than One year. A Third Driving While Intoxicated often means 2-10 years in the penitentiary.

Houston DWI Fines/Costs:
Fines not to exceed $4,000. Other administrative and evaluation fees might be assessed. Texas imposes a “surcharge” for a DWI on top of regular fines. The surcharge is $1,500 per year for three years for a second DWI offense and $2,000 if the person’s BAC level was double or more the legal limit (.16).

Texas License Suspension:
Yes, 180 days to two years. Occupational license may be granted based upon need.

Vehicle Impound:
None.

Houston DWI School:
Repeat offenders must complete a 32 hour Driving While Intoxicated Repeat Offender Program.

Texas Probation:
Terms of probation decided by judge or jury.

Texas Community Service:
Minimum 80 hours, but no more than 200 hours.

Driving While Intoxicated and Driving with :
It’s a felony to drive when intoxicated with a minor younger than 15 years of age inside the vehicle. This particular offense carries with it a mandatory blood test. You will be forced to submit to getting your blood drawn.

Commercial Vehicle:
Over .04 BAC level may suspend a commercial driver’s license for one year and as much as three years if the driver was carrying hazardous materials.

Under Age: 21

Texas Open Container Laws:
Yes, driver and passenger. This is a Class C Misdemeanor.

Driver Responsibility Tax:
Texas imposes a “surcharge” for a DWI on top of regular fines. The surcharge is $1,000 per year for three years for a first DWI offense, $1,500 per year for 3 years for a second Driving While Intoxicated offense and $2,000 for a initial or subsequent conviction if the person’s BAC level was double or more the legal limit (.16).

Ignition interlock device program:
Necessary to be able to be released from jail on . Required for all second-offenders during probation.

Hire the Top Houston DWI Lawyer:

In addition to these penalties, Driving While Intoxicated convictions leave a mark on your criminal record for . When you have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated, it is essential to retain the services of a skilled Houston DWI Lawyer. They are able to negotiate with judges and prosecutors to get your charges and penalties decreased or dropped. Moreover, they will provide all of their customers with viable options, multiple resources, aggressive representation, and compassionate care.

*** These penalties are subject to change based on the circumstances surrounding every case. It’s also best to consult Houston DWI Lawyer Charles Johnson to talk about your options and also the details surrounding your specific case.

One comment

  1. […] Houston DWI: Penalties for Multiple Driving While Intoxicated Arrests […]

We can be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Call us at 713-222-7577 or toll free at 877-308-0100.
Major Credit Cards Accepted.

 
Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer Houston Criminal Defense Lawyer
 
Dallas Office - Charles Johnson Law Firm San Antonio Office - Charles Johnson Law Firm Houston Office - Charles Johnson Law Firm Austin Office - Charles Johnson Law Firm
Reach me personally now at 713-222-7577close